don’t be a feverish clot, mkay?

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have to tell myself to get in line. To pull my finger out, or pull my head in, or align various other body parts… Essentially, to stop being a brat, and cease the tantrum. Whatever it is I may be tantruming(it’s a word!) ridiculously about at any given point.

The other day I read this quote:

“This is the true joy of life, the being used up for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; being a force of nature instead of a feverish, selfish little clot of ailments and grievances, complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy. I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the community, and as long as I live, it is my privilege to do for it what I can.” G B Shaw

…and since then, when I tell myself off, I’ve been using this phrase.

“don’t be such a feverish clot mkay.”

I love it. ROFL a little with me(roll on the floor laughing, if you will) (or dont, because that’s pretty ridiculous, and I’m certainly not doing it, but just chuckle in your chair a bit at least).

It works. But not just because I tell myself off. Also because of the rest of the quote. That our lives belong in community, in relationship, and if we live like that, TRULY live like that, there’s true joy… We’re so not built for isolation and selfishness.

Usually you have to replace one thing with another. So if I’m busy being a brat, I pull myself up on it(hopefully!) AND THEN I generally try go do something for someone else. THAT works. I’ve written about it before… It makes me shift my focus. Adjust my perspective.

And it’s not massive stuff. Keep it simple they say…(‘they’ being the very smart people out there…) So on my little road to being not quite *such* a feverish clot, I do things like this:

  • hand write a card, and stuff the envelope with something crazy fun – like woolen pom poms or glitter, or sparkly sticker things. I do it all the time. It’s fun.
  • call someone and to tell them three things you love about them.
  • pay for a stranger’s petrol, or groceries, or just their coffee if you don’t want to go overboard!
  • offer to babysit for a neighbour or friend so they can go for a walk in the sunshine.
It’s generousity. It’s community. It breaks down the clots, so that life can flow… xx
3 thoughts on “don’t be a feverish clot, mkay?

  1. Jo great post! When my father died earlier this year & there were well over 300 people at his funeral, I realised why he touched so many! His sense of community. He was always volunteering to do something for others, whether through their church or Rotary, being a Mason or some other… when I was young it used to annoy me that he was always out doing something for others but not always there for me. I have finally realised that doing for others was more important that he was helping many instead of just one! I would like to be more like him & your post reminded me of that. so thank you!

Leave a Reply

