What did you say?

Words are powerful.

Single words can evoke a mass of emotions.
:newborn: :gracious: :murdered: :peace: :homeless: :tsunami: :paradise:

Multiple words strung into sentences can change the course of history.
“Demoralize the enemy from within by surprise, terror, sabotage, assassination. This is the war of the future.” Adolf Hitler.
“For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.” Nelson Mandela

And a bunch of words grouped like this can change your life: “He died tragically”. Or “she was born at ten past three and she’s perfect.”

Today I’ve had the “he died tragically” words. And it’s got me thinking….

Words are powerful. They carry things. Suggestions. Commands. Wit. Information. Emotions. Agendas. Intentions. Humour. They are alive, and they create. They can rescue, and save, and heal. They can forgive, or condemn. They can ridicule or build up. They can soothe, and lift you sky high. They can cut like a knife and they can drop you to your knees.

Remember the old “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never harm me”. For anyone who’s ever been yelled at, or cursed, or ridiculed, or bullied, you know that’s not true. We get told all the time it’s important to speak to people nicely. I always got the “if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything at all” speech. But we often don’t think about how we speak to OURSELVES….

Those same words we don’t say about someone else because they’re rude or cutting, we often are still saying to ourselves. We condemn ourselves, shortchange ourselves, stunt ourselves….

Look at what excuses we found within ourselves when we had to take a deeper look at ourselves and get rid of them. Most of us had talked ourselves into ridiculous places, and it’s all in our minds, and it starts in our words.

What if we turned that around? The very same power HAS to be in the positive… It’s time to let the TRUTH actually take hold, and let the TRUTH be what we speak over our own lives.

You ARE worth it. You CAN do it. You WILL achieve it. There is ALWAYS hope. It’s NEVER too late…..

I’m using my words to clarify my own heart and intentions, using them to encourage those who are about to quit. My words can put stumbling people on their feet, or put fresh hope in people that are about to collapse. We’ve seen that time and again… Sometimes it’s easier to encourage someone else than to actually believe that it could happen for YOU. Don’t let those same words you use for others fall at your feet without penetrating YOUR heart.

Chose how you speak about yourself. At the moment for me a lot of this relates to health and fitness, so bear with me… just replace these with the equivalent in your life… “I can’t run” is very different to “I haven’t been able to run 1km yet”. It may seem small, but those words are powerful. “I can’t run” has a wall of finality to it. “I haven’t been able to run 1km

YET” speaks of hope and possibility. “I’m on a diet” is very different to “I’ve chosen to eat differently”. One is restrictive and legalistic, and most of us like to break the rules(!) and the other gives YOU control, and makes it your choice.

“The tongue can bring death or life; those who love to talk will reap the consequences” Proverb.

I’m learning to watch my words……

xxxx

 

3 thoughts on “What did you say?

  1. Thanks for the post Jo, well written. I needed to hear it, as I am one of the people who was about to quit, I had a shocking weekend, and it just felt like the 12wbt never happened, that I hadn’t learnt anything at all. Time to get back on my feet.

    So sorry to hear about the loss yesterday, virtual hug from me, hope today is a better day.

  2. Beautifully said Jo. You have a wonderful way with words and I always find you very encouraging and lovely. I guess now it’s good to remember to be just as nice to yourself!
    Sorry to hear you had a loss in your life. I hope you are finding some comfort and healing in Him.

  3. Pingback: ‘somethin somethin’ « .the.world.is.your.oyster.

Leave a Reply

