legacy

You don’t know these people. But I do.

Meet my grandparents. On my dad’s side. (Although you can’t really. Because they’re not with us anymore.)

My gran was my MOST favourite person on the planet. HANDS DOWN. No two ways about it. There is nobody who will ever come close. I still miss her. Every single day.

My grandpa was slightly more ‘cranky’, but he was beautiful with her. Around her. She calmed him. She soothed him. She made him all the ‘good’ that was in him.

She made all of us into the good that was in us.

My gran once said to me, after I’d whinged about my brother for something, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”. OUCH. Now, I know my gran didn’t necessarily pen that phrase, however, I was only eight or nine, and it was the first time I’d heard the phrase. It impacted me HUGELY.

She left a legacy. Who my dad is reminds me of my gran. And who I am is part of the legacy she left…

Which begs the asking: what is the legacy I leave?

And not just when I die. I often ask myself what my daily choices are determining for every tomorrow?

And it’s not only about the ‘massive’ stuff. I’m learning that a smile means a lot. And how I engage with someone impacts their day more than I sometimes care to admit… sitting with a seven year old outside in the dark talking about the clouds and the stars means more to him than I can comprehend in that moment…

It’s the little things that usually mean the most.

Below is a portion of Nichole Nordeman’s lyrics from her song “Legacy”. This, I love…

‘I don’t mind if you’ve got something nice to say about me
And I enjoy an accolade like the rest
You could take my picture and hang it in a gallery
Of all who’s who and so-n-so’s that used to be the best
At such’n’such … it wouldn’t matter much

I won’t lie, it feels alright to see your name in lights
We all need an ‘Atta boy’ or ‘Atta girl’
But in the end I’d like to hang my hat on more besides
The temporary trappings of this world

I want to leave a legacy. How will they remember me?’

And these days, if I don’t have anything nice to say, I just don’t say anything at all.

Thanks gran. xxx


4 thoughts on “legacy

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention legacy « .the.world.is.your.oyster. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

