silver? pffft.

So, you know how silver is expensive?

Not ‘Diva’ silver, which turns my fingers green within hours… but REAL silver…

It’s a metallic chemical element, and it even has a chemical symbol. Woot. Go silver! Interestingly, I also learnt it has the highest electrical conductivity of any element, and the highest thermal conductivity of any metal. I have a small clue as to what those things actually mean(and by ‘small’ I mean ‘hardly any’) but suffice to say: silver is cool.

And, it’s expensive.

It’s a precious metal.

It’s used to make ornaments, jewelry, tableware, utensils, coins.

It’s used in conductors, and mirrors.

It’s compounds are used in photographic film(and we know I love photos!)

It’s also(in diluted solutions) used in disinfectants and microbiocides.

Gotta love silver!

It’s something we consider precious these days right?

Well, then I found out, that in the olden days(when I did not exist at all, and nor did that twinkle in my father’s eye…) THIS: “All King Solomon’s goblets were gold, and all the household articles in the Palace of the Forest of Lebanon were pure gold. Nothing was made of silver, because silver was considered of little value in Solomon’s day.”

Woah. NOT precious? Considered ‘of little value’? Wow. How times have changed. All the goblets, and other household articles in the Palace of the Forest of Lebanon(which sounds like a really fun place to visit), were made of gold. Because that was considered of GREAT value. And this was the King’s palace. It needed to be treated as such. Everything ‘fit for a King’. Everything valuable. And worthy to bring before someone of importance.

Made me think. About how we view things. What value we place on them. Is your house ‘fit for a King’? Not only your literal house, but YOU…. as a person. Are you fit for a king? And not a LITERAL king (although maybe Prince William and Kate will visit your home one day…erm…) but please see the metaphor here….

Do you place value on who is in your ‘home’, your life, your SPACE… who is around you, enough to surround them with gold? And again, I don’t mean LITERAL gold(although it is fun if you have it!), or even just material STUFF, but I’m talking about what gold represents…. YOUR BEST. Of the highest value.

Do you place value on who is around you enough to treat them like they’re valuable, and important. With respect, and honour. With esteem, and love. And grace. All of these are true gold…

I’m thinking about what’s in my house.

What’s in ME. Am I bringing out the ‘silver’, the stuff with no value, or am I offering my gold…

 

 

One thought on “silver? pffft.

Leave a Reply

