and they will know you by your… breakfast habits?

“What do you drink? What do you read at breakfast? And I know who you are”


I really like this idea, from The Elegance of the Hedgehog“, which is totally one of my favourite books this year…

By our morning routine, our mini traditions with which we haul ourselves on to a new day, we construct ourselves. We recreate ourselves. Every single day.

“I say ‘construct’ because I think each time it’s a new construction, as if everything had been reduced to ashes during the night, and we start from scratch.

In our world, that’s the way you live your grown-up life: you must constantly rebuild your identity as an adult, the way it’s been put together it is wobbly and ephemeral, so fragile, cloaking despair and, when you’re alone in front of the mirror, it tells you the lies you need to believe.”

So the extra strong coffee and the morning newspaper(or whatever tradition it is that shakes you awake) are like magic wands that transform us each day into what we need to be. They give us time, and space, and fuel, to make our daily change, to pull ourselves from last night’s ashes so to speak, and to resurrect, for the dawn of a fresh new day.

Unwritten. Unspoken. Let it begin.

3 thoughts on “and they will know you by your… breakfast habits?

  1. Your way with words are beautiful and always take me to my special place of lovely and inspirational thoughts… I always have a good day dream after reading them…

    My morning construction is a flick of the cofee machine while opening all my blinds to let the first of the morning sun shine in and i stand on my back step looking at my beautiful garden…..

Leave a Reply

