the gratefuls…

Remember ‘ye olde tyme gratitude journals’? All about having an attitude of gratitude.


A list, of things you’re thankful for. Written down. Effective all the more if written on paper with ink… the personal touch.

It’s totally oh so frickin cheesy. But: it’s also the best idea. Like, EVER. I know. Dorkness abounds in every direction. I even whince as I write it. BUT it does something inside of you… Keeping it real.

It doesn’t mean it negates any one particular emotion. You can be grateful in the midst of sadness. You can be grateful in the midst of grief. Or in the midst of happiness.

It’s not attached to one particular emotion. Nor should it be. It should stand alone. Regardless of our feelings.

Gratitude: a full life spent in awareness of all the good things that surround us. I like that concept. Thanks Leo Babauta. A sense of purpose in our lives. An appreciation for the lives of those around us. A willingness to take action to show the gratitude we feel.

According to Cicero,  “Gratitude is not only the greatest of the virtues but the parent of all others.”And so I start my list:

I’m grateful for life….

4 thoughts on “the gratefuls…

  1. This past new year’s day, I was awake at our hotel before everyone else (per usual), so I sat in the lobby and drank some green tea. I started thinking about EVERY SINGLE THING I had done in the past year, all the way back to January 1, 2010. It was so cool. The year goes so fast, but at the same time you realize just how much you did and what you learned. It’s my new tradition: By myself, in my own head… I don’t need to write it down, I just know.
    And I become grateful.

Leave a Reply

