eat, drink and be merry (and by merry i mean a little bit healthy)

I know everyone’s gearing up for The Big Christmas Eat Off… but after a little health ‘awakening’ recently (more on that later) I’ve been a lot more GOOD food conscious. I know, I should know better, working for a foodie health guru and all. But sometimes you can know in your head, and it still takes time – or a health scare – to get the knowledge from your head, to being outworked properly in your own daily life. (and quite frankly, sometimes it’s just a pain to be a disciplined grown up!)

So! Thought I’d share a few of the foodie things I’ve been learning and embracing lately… and will be trying to stick to through the silly season!

1. When I wake up in the mornings I drink (a lot of) hot water with a big chunk of lemon, or apple cider vinegar.

  • Apple cider vinegar contains tons of minerals, trace elements, vitamins, enzymes and acids we need, including: potassium, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium, chlorine, vitamin C, A, E, B1, B2, B6, beta carotene, vitamin P, and iron.
  • it helps your metabolism to function properly
  • it regulates water content in the cells and body, and reduces water retention
  • it helps to regulate blood pressure
  • it increases vitality and energy
  • it’s a powerful detoxifying and purifying agent, breaking down a bunch of nasty toxic deposits in the body and thereby improving the health and function of all the vital organs – including the liver, kidneys, and bladder.
  • it also promotes digestion.

2. Because of the effort involved in digesting things at the moment, I’ve been sticking with smoothies. Easy to make, easy to drink, no chewing or effort or ‘heavy’ digestion involved. Win!

It’s usually a green smoothie. I add a variety of chia seeds, maca powder, vital greens, acai berries to my smoothies. I also add a lot of spirulina. It’s an algae full of protein, minerals, chlorophyll, vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, B12, E & K. I always have coconut water in my smoothie too.

Some of my favourite smoothie bases at the moment:

  • any variety of kale, with berries.
  • spinach, with mango and banana. (I’m not a huge fan of banana, I usually just use a third in a smoothie). The guys at Porch and Parlour make a fab green smoothie!
  • sprouts, with pear and strawberries.
  • parsley or coriander, mango and banana. (don’t judge me!)

3. I’m currently eating things like blueberries, kale, spinach, turmeric, flaxseed, and other green leafy vegetables to help with inflammation.

4. I’ve been adding coriander, pumpkin seeds and/or sunflower seeds to most of my (warm) salads. These guys apparently help remove pesticides/toxins from your system. Who knew! (everyone ‘cept me…)

5. Throughout the day, I drink a lot of green tea, and other herbal teas. I find I need hot drinks, as my body isn’t loving cold liquids these days. Sometimes on a hot afternoon I’ll have a fresh carrot juice with (real) ginger and some cayenne pepper. That’s a “wake me up!” drink if you ever need one!

6. I’m also steering clear of the simple carbs – rice, breads, pastas, etc. Not eating any of it at the moment. That definitely helps with digestion.

What do you do food-wise when you’re feeling shitty? Please share!

:: big love :: xx ::

6 thoughts on “eat, drink and be merry (and by merry i mean a little bit healthy)

  1. I’m with you in the chia seeds. Mid-morning, I like to dish out a few dollops of Jalna Bio-dynamic Organic yoghurt, with chia seeds, berries and sunflower kernels. Occasionally I have this after dinner, when my housemate is munching on chocolate and I feel like I’m missing out. It’s filling and sweet without making me feel ‘blah’ afterwards.

    I’ve bookmarked this post – will try out your juice & smoothie concoctions when I’m back from hols.

    Happy Christmas Jo! 🙂

  2. I read this post with great interest, while eating a caramel slice, and inhaling a cup of coffee. I suppose it’s too late for me……. 😉

Leave a Reply

