a gypsy update. from a room with a view…

Well hello!

So I’ve been ‘gypsying’ my way around the East coast of Australia since last November… it’s gone quickly that’s for sure (especially when I realised my last login to wordpress was MANY MOONS AGO…)

gypsy dreaming

I wasn’t so sure I’d love a gypsy lifestyle. I’m pretty transient by nature, but I do also like being settled, and having MY STUFF around me. But when I got back from six weeks in Africa, I walked into my bedroom and felt claustrophobic. I’d been loving carrying only what I could fit in a case, and suddenly the weight of all my STUFF was so much heavier than before. Metaphor much? Probably, so anyway…

My theory on that is also – first the natural, then the spiritual. And when you’re making space in your physical practical tangible world for things to change, the spaces open up across the rest of your life too.

So, I downsized. Big time. I rented my room out to a friend. Sold some furniture, gave some furniture away, loaned some furniture to friends on a ‘who knows if I’ll ever want this back’ basis. It was blissful. I loved it all. I moved out, with one suitcase, my bike, and my car, and trekked up the coast to Queensland.

And since then, I’ve been floating the Eastern side of this great land quite happily. With no planned agenda further than a few weeks ahead. Which is hard for a CONTROL FREAK like myself. It’s been good for me. I’ve felt the stretch, and I’ve loved it. And things have nicely fallen into place. Such as the fact that I write this from a gorgeous apartment in Sydney belonging to friends of mine who are in Europe, who needed someone to ‘house sit’, and for a month I’ve been able to look at this…

Sydney, at dusk last night

So grateful….

I’ve also discovered there’s still a way to collect things, even when you’re trying to downsize… so I’ve been collecting things other than STUFF… things like memories in different places, treasured moments with friends I don’t see every day, views I capture in my mind with an image or a smell, or the wind… the feeling of the sand between my toes. So many things I can collect, and carry, without being burdened by the weight of them… and I really really like it.

And next? Well, I head off to Europe next week. Again, open plans… happy to float and see. And soooo grateful for my work that can be done from anywhere in the world. Yes, there’s definitely a cost, but it’s one I continually weigh, and count, and acknowledge. And I love that this is my path.

So anyway, there you have it… a little update. Because it’s been a while. And I’ve missed my blog. xxx

9 thoughts on “a gypsy update. from a room with a view…

  1. I’ll miss you JoJo when you travel your way over to Europe !!! Please travel safely and promise me you’ll come back soon to catch up for a cuppa. I have loved living your gypsy life with you & was only thinking recently that you haven’t written anything down…I’m glad that you did – your words are as beautiful as your pictures….xxxxx

  2. Pingback: how to travel through europe, by someone who’s never been… | .the.world.is.your.oyster.

Leave a Reply

